Here’s the when and why of the new Destiny 2 weekly reset time

2 min read
12

But for me, it was just...Tuesday

When it comes to Destiny 2, you’ve usually only got a week to hit certain milestones. A week to earn powerful gear, a week to complete a raid (IF IT DOESN’T F*** OUT ON YOUR RRRRAAAAAAGE) and a week to tackle the Nightfall strike. That’s due to the game resetting its world every Tuesday, which happens on the dot at 11AM on our side of the world. Central African Time, my fellow American Guardians, in case you’re reading this.

For the Yanks, that clock ticks over to reset at 1 AM Pacific Time. That time is a’changin’ soon however, as the arrival of the Curse of Osiris DLC will result in a later weekly reset. Much later in fact, as Tuesday cycles in new content from the following times as of December 5:

Destiny 2 (2)

  • 9 AM PST
  • 12 PM EST
  • 5 PM GMT
  • 9 PM MSK
  • 2 AM JST
  • 4 AM AEDT
  • 6 AM NZDT

For us locals, that means that we’ll get the Destiny 2 reset at 19:00PM on a Tuesday night. I’m kind of happy with that actually. As for why Bungie is playing with its clock (Giggle)? It’s all to do with giving players more time to hit their milestones when new content cycles in. “Throughout Destiny 1’s lifespan, players would frequently encounter an issue where weekly resets would not always coincide with content releases,” Bungie wrote in a weekly update.

This would prevent impacted players from earning new rewards. Countermeasures were taken by disabling activity playlists, but we were unable to prevent every scenario. Additionally, we’re seeking to align the Milestone resets with event availability, such as Trials of the Nine or Iron Banner, to provide a uniform experience for players to follow each week.

December 5 marks not only the launch of the Vex-centric Curse of Osiris DLC, but also the start of season 2 of Destiny 2’s content plans. More Iron Banner showdowns, more Faction Rallies and other in-game events such as the Dawning as Bungie aims to keep the space between major expansions more populated and rewarding for players who stick around.

Last Updated: November 10, 2017

Read  Bungie cancels Trials of the Nine for the next two weeks thanks to an emote

Darryn Bonthuys

Something wrong gentlemen? You come here prepared to read the words of a madman, and instead found a lunatic obsessed with comics, Batman and Raul Julia’s M Bison performance in the 1994 Street Fighter movie? Fine! Keep your bio! In fact, now might be a good time to pray to it!

  • VampyreSquirrel

    I think I’m ok with this as long as the servers are available and stable at 7pm.

    Just wish I could get more useful 670+ gear 😛

  • Me trying to keep up with all the side quests and public events now that faction rallies are everywhere…

    https://uploads.disquscdn.com/images/78646b34349b48831ba00ce576ecfbb7c6d318acbbc9b7dfe8541fa127b15887.png

  • Hammersteyn

    Raids shouldn’t reset, instead they should allow the leader to reset it and block players from starting a new RAID unless the leader resets it only allowing them to start a new one after the leader’s been inactive for a certain period. Or something.

    The Raid isn’t that hard, once you’ve learned your role. But either there’s a schedule conflict, it’s six adults with lives most of the time after all or the servers are just not playing along that one night you really want to finish the gauntlet.

    • VampyreSquirrel

      The raid resets are something they pulled out of the whole World of Warcraft setup. Raids reset weekly, so you have 7 days to finish the raid. I don’t mind a weekly raid reset.

      • Hammersteyn

        On paper 7 days seems plenty, but it’s not, heck some people can only jump on after 9. Because life. Myself included, gotta spend time with the GF sometime. Telling her every night I need to Raid is a bad idea.

        • I had to compromise and get a cat.

          • Hammersteyn

            XD

        • VampyreSquirrel

          Yep I understand that, but the way Otto (and the rest of my group) sorts it out is pretty good… set game days, and set off days… setting raid nights is a good idea too. You shouldn’t need to raid every night of the week to get through Leviathan.

  • MonsterCheddar

    I hit my weeklies every weekend, so I’m golden. Still need to Raid though……

Check Also

Pokémon Ultra Sun and Ultra Moon includes a tribute to the late Satoru Iwata

So great was Satoru Iwata’s impact on Nintendo, that he was even honoured in the productio…