Home Soundgarden records first new song in 15 years for The Avengers

Soundgarden records first new song in 15 years for The Avengers

2 min read

Last week we brought you Pitbull’s new theme song to MIB3, and as it turns out, it was the musical equivalent of having your nose hairs pulled out by Michael J Fox. Now a new theme song for a different comic book inspired big budget film has been released, and Xenu be praised, it actually sounds pretty decent.

The film in question is Marvel’s superheropalooza The Avengers, and Captain America and company will be assembling to the rock stylings of Seattle grunge group, Soundgarden, who prior to this have not recorded a song together in a decade and a half.

You can check out a sample of the song below,which is sounding pretty good thus far, as well the full description and track listing for The Avengers‘ rock-centric soundtrack.


Marvel Music/Hollywood Records announce the return of Soundgarden with the release of the band’s first song in 15 years, “Live to Rise.” The song will be featured in the end credits to this year’s highly anticipated movie, “Marvel’s The Avengers.” “Live to Rise” is included on Avengers Assemble, a 14-track compilation of music from and inspired by the film. Avengers Assemble will be released on May 1, 2012.

Soundgarden stated, “We’ve been hard at work on our new album, which will come out this Fall. When the opportunity arose to write an original song for the film came our way, we thought it could be a cool match. We are excited to release our new song, which is also the only new song in the film. Here’s a taste. Loudest of Love.”

Also, The Avengers original motion picture soundtrack, with score by Oscar®-nominated and GRAMMY-winning composer Alan Silvestri (“Captain America: The First Avenger,” “Forrest Gump,” the “Back to the Future” trilogy) will be available at online retailers on May 1, 2012. In addition to Soundgarden’s “Live to Rise,” the Avengers Assemble collection features original songs inspired by the exciting and action-packed film event. The diverse range of artists includes Rise Against, Shinedown, Bush and Redlight King. The Avengers Assemble track list follows:

1. Live to Rise Performed by Soundgarden
2. I’m Alive Performed by Shinedown
3. Dirt and Roses Performed by Rise Against
4. Even If I Could Performed by Papa Roach
5. Unbroken Performed by Black Veil Brides
6. Breath Performed by Scott Weiland
7. Comeback Performed by Redlight King
8. Into the Blue Performed by Bush
9. A New Way to Bleed (Photek Remix) Performed by Evanescence
10. Count Me Out Performed by PUSHERJONES
11. Shoot to Thrill Performed by Theory of a Deadman
12. Wherever I Go Performed by Buckcherry
13. From Out of Nowhere Performed by Five Finger Death Punch
14. Shake the Ground Performed by Cherri Bomb


15. Pistols At Dawn Performed by Kasabian

Soundgarden, Shinedown and Kasabian? Oh Marvel, you shouldn’t have….

Last Updated: March 30, 2012

One Comment

  1. Justin Hess

    March 30, 2012 at 13:55

    There are few things more glorious than the sound of Kim Thayil’s guitar. 
    Coupled with Chris Cornell’s vocals, it makes you want to go out and
    kick the shit out of anyone who dares to get in your way.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

Action-packed new Shang-Chi trailer shows off the Ten Rings in battle

A brand new trailer for Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings shows us the revamped or…