Home Gaming Winner of the Reviewer Competition

Winner of the Reviewer Competition

1 min read
14

By Philip Dunkley

As everyone knows, we posted a story a while ago asking for reviewers to send submissions into the site for us to have a look at, as we are looking for a new reviewer. We then went through all these submissions, and narrowed it down to two guys, namely Brett and Werner.

We then asked you guys to judge there different reviews, and give us your vote, and we went through these as well.

Firstly, I would like to say well done to both of them, as we put them under some serious pressure by giving them 2 games each, to review in a day and a half, and although there were a few mistakes and missed story lines, I was quite happy that we had chosen these 2.

We then did all the in-detail analysis, as we do here at LazyGamer, and came down to a decision. And what a decision it was. We were supposed to announce the results yesterday, but we have been discussing this since the weekend, and finally we came up with an Winner:

Congratulations to Werner Dohse, he will be joining the team ASAP, so keep a look out for his work. We have also taken your comments into consideration, and will chat to him around these, and make sure the stuff you want to see is provided.

To Brett, your reviews were also fantastic, but there is always only one winner, but we will be in contact anyway…….

We will also announce the winner of the Figurine tomorrow morning…………..

Last Updated: July 15, 2008

14 Comments

  1. bukzin

    July 15, 2008 at 15:51

    wow well that came as a shock to me , so by the article i guess the votes were not the only criteria you used . Out of interest i would like to know what the voting score was , personally im not sure how a guy who got a critical part of his one review wrong in the c&c review , and not being able to use the spell check button in some instances as well as the grammar that was used in the prizefighter review , which in some parts was un-readable . If i was Brett i would be rather disheartened if i was beaten by those reviews

    Thats just my 2c

    Reply

  2. Vamp

    July 15, 2008 at 15:58

    Congrats and welcome to the 7th layer of Hell, dude 😆

    Reply

  3. LazySAGamer

    July 15, 2008 at 21:57

    Hi Bukzin,

    Yes I did say in the original posting that the voting was not the only criteria that was going to be used.

    Brett’s reviews were fantastic and it really was a very difficult decision to make.

    As for the results of the poll, Brett’s Unreal Tournament review was the most popular but Werners ‘flawed’ C&C review actually came in second and the supporting reasons by voters were quite enlightening.

    The final decision was difficult and a lot of things had to be considered, trust me rejecting a Liverpool support was a very difficult thing 🙁

    Reply

  4. PO7H3AD

    July 15, 2008 at 22:16

    Is there any way I could see some of the criticism of my reviews? I would like to see what people thought because the comments really didn’t say much

    Reply

  5. bukzin

    July 15, 2008 at 22:25

    I guess i just dont see the point of giving the guy who came in second the win !

    The 2 games werner had were alot easier to compare with previous game types , You cant really compare overlord with any other game !

    Reply

  6. bukzin

    July 15, 2008 at 22:35

    I know phillip is the head of reviews i would like to hear what he has to say on the subject

    Reply

  7. PO7H3AD

    July 15, 2008 at 22:38

    Wow thanks for all the support bukzin 😉

    Reply

  8. LazySAGamer

    July 16, 2008 at 00:23

    Well since we know who Brett is and since a lot of his votes came from his close friends and online mates we can’t really only go on the votes.

    (I’m not implying it was rigged)

    Reply

  9. Crud

    July 16, 2008 at 06:16

    geez, cry me a river…why don’t you just give the guy a chance to prove himself instead of just moaning about it. could’ve sworn you were the guy that was one of the last two.

    Reply

  10. Crud

    July 16, 2008 at 06:42

    just for the record…i think both guys did extremely well and feel it is up to the “employers” after all and that no explanation is needed on the decision they made.

    congrats to both you guys.

    Reply

  11. Philip Dunkley

    July 16, 2008 at 07:26

    Hi All

    From my point of view, it was a very close race, and yes, I did expect there to be a few missed story elements, and a couple of mistakes from both, but eventually it came down to many different factors, including technical writing ability, which in my opinion, Werner came in a little better. Trust us, we have taken this very seriously, and we’ll make sure that Werner is properly trained(initiated/tortured) into shape first!! Give the guy a chance, I beleive he will be very good, but please keep the feedback coming as he releases reviews, it makes my job so much easier.

    Philip Dunkley’s last blog post..E3 Sony Press Conference: Part 3

    Reply

  12. PO7H3AD

    July 16, 2008 at 09:55

    Damn it sucks to be popular 😀

    Look I really don’t mind, I did my best and came in second nothing wrong with that. I’m glad to see people liked my reviews even if it was people who know who I am, I know I didn’t rig anything so its nice to know people generally liked them.

    I actually think it came down to Philip and his Arsenal allegiances :p

    Reply

  13. LazySAGamer

    July 16, 2008 at 10:44

    Trust me I needed another Liverpool fan to help shut him up…

    Reply

  14. Werner

    July 16, 2008 at 12:21

    Only problem here is I support neither of those teams.

    I’m a Man-U supporter!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Check Also

Reinvent Your Experience: Mario Kart 8 Deluxe DLC

After some serious build-up from Nintendo and rising anticipation amongst fans, the Japane…