Downloadable Rock Band titles starting to be pulled

1 min read


Are you a big fan of Rock Band and the downloadable songs available for the Harmonix title? If so then you may want to go download as many of them as you can before they disappear for good.

According to a post on their Facebook page some of the older DLC songs are starting to disappear as the licences acquired for them are starting to expire.

Right now the only affected content is the first Metallica DLC which includes the songs “Ride The Lightning”, “And Justice for All” and “Blackened”.

The real worry is whether or not people who have purchased these tracks are going to lose their content or not and Harmonix did answer that, but maybe not as definitive as I would have liked. (emphasis mine)

• If you’ve already bought these tracks, nothing changes. Tracks that you’ve purchased/downloaded are yours. Relicensing should not affect content already in your library.
• Select legacy tracks, primarily from the earliest DLC releases, may no longer be offered for new purchase in the Rock Band Store. Again, if you’ve already purchased these tracks you should be entirely unaffected.
• If for any reason you need to redownload this content (i.e. in cases of console transfer, hard drive space management, etc.) you should be able to do so even if that content is no longer available for new purchasers in the store.

If all those should’s could change to will’s I’ll be happy. Until then I’m slightly hesitant.

Last Updated: April 9, 2013

Gavin Mannion

I for one welcome our future robotic overlords

  • Admiral Chief Erwin


    You lose manpoints!!!!

    • Rincethis: Spellalicious

      OVG and I were playing it on Sat, pissed you can’t get death Magnetic via DLC, region specific (or so it seems, I could be retarded, there is a growing wealth of evidence for this…)

    • Skyblue

      Looks like it’s been fixed, reading it correctly here

      • Admiral Chief Erwin

        BLACK END still wrong 🙁

  • Rincethis: Spellalicious

    How can you get Metallica DLC? I tried downloading it just a few weeks ago and that is region specific… And not Africa region…

    • I’ve had no issues downloading RB DLC – but I’m on a UK Xbox Live account.

      • Rincethis: Spellalicious

        Ahh, I am using an SA account. I read that Death Magnetic is not available to us, which sucks as now they are starting to pull stuff. VERY sad panda. Nut hey, I get to see them at the Cape town Stadium! Yeah! Oh, hang on… FUUUUUUCK!

        • Bellville Velodrome

          They’re not playing Cape Town Stadium anymore…

          • Rincethis: Spellalicious

            … Hence my ‘Oh, hang on…, FUUUCK…”

          • Bellville Velodrome

            My bad – missed that part! That sucks man… Sorry.

  • DrKiller

    Not a problem for me 🙂 Just make sure you guys download all the Linkin Park songs… That is my reason to play Rock Band over Guitar Hero!!

  • Skyblue

    Blackend?!?! Surely you mean Blackened !!! WTF !!!
    Feel for Rock Band users though as Metallica is the best DLC you can get for that title, imo

    • Rincethis: Spellalicious

      And your opinion is CORRECT!

      • Skyblue

        LOL! Very true! Heeeeeeere’s your upvote!

      • Admiral Chief Erwin


Check Also

Super Beat Sports review – Casual rhythmic sports that’s fun in small doses

It’s definitely fun in short bursts, and is perfectly suited to the Switch with its casual…