GT 5 proves why DLC is inherently evil

3 min read
43

lol n00bSo we all know that Sony is shutting down the Gran Turismo 5 servers on the 1st of April 2014? No it’s no April Fools they really did smash their skulls together and pick that date to remove people’s pleasure.

But did you know that all that DLC you paid real money for and downloaded could also be taking the one-way trip to the rubbish bin? Well, here’s how to keep it. 

According to a post on the official European Gran Turismo blog

As previously mentioned in past announcements, the remaining online services for Gran Turismo 5, including Online Lobby, Seasonal Events, Museum, News, Community, Remote Race, Log in Bonus, Online Dealership and DLC purchase, will no longer be available after 03:00 EDT, 30 May, 2014.

The rest we expected but why are the DLC purchases going to disappear?

Well according to the blog post they won’t be gone if you follow certain instructions

“Racing Car Pack” and “Course Pack” (including those purchased as part of the “Complete Pack”)
After you have purchased those items, please complete the following steps before the online services are terminated.

1. Select the Downloadable Content icon on the GT5 home screen and install the purchased items.
2. Access the PlayStation®Store from the XMB and enter the “Gran Turismo 5” section.

Purchase the [Family Upgrade] for the items in question (free of charge).

By following the above 2 steps, you’ll be able to use the items even after the termination of the online services. If you delete the GT5 Game Data after the termination date of the online services , you’ll be able to download and install them again.

Okay so jump through some hoops and you are all good to go. But what about my other DLC you ask?

“Paint Pack” and “Racing Gear Pack” (including those purchased as part of the “Complete Pack”)

After you have purchased those items, select the Downloadable Content icon on the GT5 home screen and install the purchased items before the online services end.

You will be able to use the items even after the termination of the online services; however, you will NOT be able to install them again if you delete the GT5 Save Data after the online services end.

So if you download them before the servers are turned off then you are fine, that is unless you have an issue with your PS3 and need to reformat it or get a replacement. Then everything you had is gone and cannot be recovered. How’s that for a kick in the face?

Europe and the US need to start implementing policies around virtual goods. This sort of thing is becoming all too common and we as consumers deserve the right to keep what we’ve paid for.

Last Updated: February 25, 2014

Gavin Mannion

I for one welcome our future robotic overlords

Check Also

Destiny 2 Warmind Review – Tsar Wars

Destiny 2 does have an identity once again, a solid bedrock upon which to build its future…