Facebook is reversing that decision with the company having now revealed that people who do not accept its new privacy policies will still retain all their usual functionality, as originally reported by The Verge:
Given recent discussions with various authorities and privacy experts, we want to make clear that we will not limit the functionality of how WhatsApp works for those who have not yet accepted the update. We will continue to remind users from time to time and let them accept the update, including when they choose to use relevant optional features like communicating with a business that is receiving support from Facebook. We hope this approach reinforces the choice that all users have whether or not they want to interact with a business.
The company has also been a little heavy-handed and draconian in trying to force its changes on people who are not making use of its business features, and they are now starting to realise that people do not take too kindly to that and are happy to head elsewhere if need be.
Hopefully, Facebook’s new approach will be better accepted by users and perhaps see people accept its new rules as they need to. The bigger issue around social media data sharing will remain, and people may get increasingly nervous about it until regulation around the matter improves.
Last Updated: June 1, 2021