Home Gaming Battlefield 4 will launch with 7 modes, 10 maps

Battlefield 4 will launch with 7 modes, 10 maps

1 min read


So how much bang do you get with your buck lately? If you’re an FPS gamer with a certain love for military based shooters in modern theatres of war, you’re going to want to know what all your hard-earned Randelas are buying you. So here’s what Battlefield 4 will be throwing at you once you’re done huffing that new box smell.

As of launch day, these will be the modes on offer:

  • Team Deathmatch
  • Squad Deathmatch
  • Rush
  • Domination
  • Conquest
  • Defuse
  • Obliteration

Obliteration and Defuse are the new additions to the franchise, as DICE explained to CVG that in Obliteration “two teams face off on medium-sized battlegrounds where one bomb spawns in a random central location.”

The mission: To pick up the bomb and arm it at one of the enemy’s three military installations and blow it up. When the bomb has detonated, a new bomb spawns in a random location, and the race is on again. The first team to destroy all three objectives wins.

Details on Defuse are still locked up at this point, but DICE did describe it as “an even tighter and quicker infantry-only game mode in which “players don’t have any respawns at all”.

Which means that snipers are going to be both a blessing and a curse in that particular game mode. Battlefield 4 is out October 29, a few days before it once again goes head to head with Call of Duty when Ghosts launches worldwide on November 5.

It’s going to be Levolution vs COD dogs this year. And that should be interesting to watch.

Last Updated: August 27, 2013


  1. Geez Darryl, did you only get up to write something now?
    One day, one day I’d like a job like that


    • Vampyre Squirrel

      August 27, 2013 at 11:23

      I’d like a job like that now, right now.


  2. LordCaptainAwesomeness

    August 27, 2013 at 11:33

    Mmmh BF4… so much destruction, so much fun… Now if i can just hide behind InsanityFlea this time…


  3. Stanley Watson

    August 27, 2013 at 11:37

    That multiplayer video looks ridiculously awesome! I can’t wait!


  4. Maxiviper117

    August 27, 2013 at 11:57

    So is anyone still worried about the graphics …….aaaheeem @Gavin


    • Exalted Overlord Geoffrey Tim

      August 27, 2013 at 12:06

      Gavin actually got to play it at Gamescom..and he’s mighty impressed.


      • Maxiviper117

        August 27, 2013 at 12:13

        Ya but he posted bf4 alpha footage in the past week or two and was unimpressed with the graphics, the code he played at gamescom obviously made him eat his words now. Lol


    • nicksimp101

      August 27, 2013 at 12:28

      I would much rather play a FPS game that has good graphics and amazing gameplay than amazing graphics and good gameplay.


    • robbie_fowler22

      August 27, 2013 at 12:29

      i love the waves in the ocean… pretty awesome stuff. i can see ‘wasted’ saturday mornings in my gaming chair and headphones on… good luck getting me to do anything on a weekend morning when this launches!


  5. Admiral Chief Raider of Tombs

    August 27, 2013 at 12:12

    Very, very very very cool


  6. M

    August 27, 2013 at 12:16

    Ja, I’ve spotted an enemy soldier……


  7. ElimiNathan

    August 27, 2013 at 12:20

    Lol Levolution vs Dogs, I think just by that we know which will be better already


  8. nicksimp101

    August 27, 2013 at 12:25

    Love the death screen that highlights the soldier that killed you. Wonder how this is going to affect snipers?


    • Anon

      August 27, 2013 at 12:35

      BF3 has that too… but in normal mode only and not hardcore…


      • Anon

        August 27, 2013 at 12:37

        And the video seems to be normal mode as you can see his HP/Ammo


      • Maxiviper117

        August 27, 2013 at 16:47

        Ya but in bf3 it showed a third person view of guy that killed you, this time when your killed the camera stays in place and zooms into the killer and highlights him.


        • Anon

          August 28, 2013 at 12:52

          Oh hectic, thanks for making me recheck that


  9. InsanityFlea

    August 27, 2013 at 12:42

    Can’t wait for this title, I got my pre-order in as well as premium (PC)


  10. InsanityFlea

    August 27, 2013 at 13:31

    I want this dogtag:



  11. Jean Jordaan

    August 27, 2013 at 16:10

    Is it just me or does Defuse sound a lot like good old CS ?


    • Anon

      August 27, 2013 at 16:27

      You mean Obliteration ? That does sound similar to CS yeah with the addition that all teams go for the bomb.


      • Jean Jordaan

        August 28, 2013 at 07:54

        No no.. I am talking about defuse.
        No respawns per round. One team plants a bomb and the other team defuses the bomb. Classic search and destroy kinda thing. Found in CS.

        Obliteration you still have respawns and the bomb gets “spawned” at a central spot with a free for all to get it and plant it.


        • Anon

          August 28, 2013 at 12:56

          Sh1t its been so many years since I played CS, I cant remember not respawning again lol. But now that I see it how you do, yeah thats gonna be epic!


  12. warmachine

    August 27, 2013 at 18:51

    Another installment of bf. Awsm… Go get it.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

I’m absolutely shocked to announce that Battlefield 2042 won’t be cheap

Battlefield 2042 is the latest game in the 2021 schedule to cost a few dollars more on PS5…