Home Gaming Here are the exact times when you can jump into Overwatch

Here are the exact times when you can jump into Overwatch

2 min read
41

Overwatch launch times revealed

Overwatch, Blizzard’s first new IP in years, is just a few days from launch. And it’s been an excruciating wait since the open beta, where nearly 10 million players flocked to get their hands on the teamed based multiplayer shooter with charm, challenge and a whole lot of characters. To say that Overwatch’s launch is anticipated would be selling it short, so here are the exact times servers will open up – in whatever region you find yourself in.

First and foremost though, Europe. Just like every other Blizzard title, we here in South Africa will be grouped with the lovely folk from the EU, which means we’ll be able to play as soon as they do. And if you absolutely have to start when the rest of the world does, you’ll be having a late night. Overwatch kicks off here and everywhere in central Europe at 01:00 on May 24th, with other regions on the EU being adjusted for time zones.

  • 00:00 BST on May 24
  • 01:00 CEST on May 24
  • 02:00 MSK on May 24

If you find yourself in the Americas or Asia though, your times vary wildly. Since all the servers are going on at the same time, the American regions will be getting access on the 23rd of May instead, albeit late in the evening. Asia, comparatively, will have to wait a little longer into the 24th. Because the earth rotating is both fascinating and annoying at times.

The Americas and Australian regions

  • 4:00 p.m. PDT on May 23
  • 5:00 p.m. MDT on May 23
  • 6:00 p.m. CDT on May 23
  • 7:00 p.m. EDT on May 23
  • 8:00 p.m. ADT on May 23
  • 8:00 p.m. BRT on May 23
  • 8:30 p.m. NDT on May 23

Asia

  • 7:00 a.m. CST on May 24
  • 8:00 a.m. KST on May 24
  • 8:00 a.m. JST on May 24

If you’re playing on PC, you can expect Overwatch to gobble up a full 30GB of hard drive space, while the download for console curiously vary. On Xbox One, the download is as small as 10GB, while it’s literally double on the PS4. Of course if you’re picking up a retail copy this doesn’t matter, although you can probably expect a launch day patch of some kind.

Overwatch is without a doubt a hell of a lot of fun, and we’ve all enjoyed our extensive and brief time respectively with the title enough to want to play more. It’s out next week.

Last Updated: May 20, 2016

41 Comments

  1. HYYYYYYYYYYYPE

    Reply

    • Admiral Chief Protector

      May 20, 2016 at 08:34

      CHOOOOOO CHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

      Reply

  2. whatacutebum .

    May 20, 2016 at 08:45

    Played it. Didn’t like it! It looked pretty though.

    Reply

  3. oVg whippersnapper

    May 20, 2016 at 08:49

    You cant get better smoke than this.

    http://i.imgur.com/AiCy6Tm.gifv

    Reply

    • Pariah

      May 20, 2016 at 08:51

      We’ll see in a few years.

      Reply

    • HairyEwok

      May 20, 2016 at 08:56

      That has to be stormtroopers that went into mercenary work after the fall of the empire… Such shitty aim.

      Reply

      • oVg whippersnapper

        May 20, 2016 at 09:06

        South African Storm Troopers are a little rusty my bru.

        Reply

    • Kromas untamed

      May 20, 2016 at 09:16

      0.60 Dayz may disagree with you.

      Reply

    • Alien Emperor Trevor

      May 20, 2016 at 10:09

      Can’t tell at 1fps.

      Reply

      • Ottokie

        May 20, 2016 at 10:20

        It’s on console, what you expect 😛

        Reply

    • Strawman Jim

      May 20, 2016 at 11:39

      Daaaaaaaaammmnnnnnnn not even Michael Bay could make an explosion that awesome!

      Reply

  4. HairyEwok

    May 20, 2016 at 08:54

    I’ll jump into Overwatch when money jumps into my wallet.

    Reply

    • Pariah

      May 20, 2016 at 08:57

      XD

      Reply

  5. th3SiCn3ss

    May 20, 2016 at 09:02

    I’m “overwatch” ing video’s & reviews….. time to play!!!!!

    Reply

    • Kromas untamed

      May 20, 2016 at 09:16

      Hahahaha … get back to work or I’ll have to turn off your BU’s phones again. 🙂

      Reply

      • th3SiCn3ss

        May 20, 2016 at 09:20

        threats!!!!!! do it I dare you 😛

        Reply

        • Kromas untamed

          May 20, 2016 at 09:21

          You just want me to do it so you can say you can’t do anything today and go home early!

          Reply

          • th3SiCn3ss

            May 20, 2016 at 09:23

            hehe going home early doesn’t work for me, you know that!!!…. just wanted to watch you cringe when the entire BU starts calling your cell 🙂

          • Kromas untamed

            May 20, 2016 at 09:26

            Cell turned off. Check and mate. 😛

  6. Ottokie

    May 20, 2016 at 09:08

    I wonder if we can just use the data we downloaded for BETA or must we reinstall the whole thing

    Reply

    • Kagutsuchi

      May 20, 2016 at 09:27

      I was wondering the same. Exactly why I didin’t uninstall after the Beta ended. Here’s hoping for the best.

      Reply

      • Ottokie

        May 20, 2016 at 09:39

        I will get up at 1 am and find out the hard way 😛

        Reply

        • Kromas untamed

          May 20, 2016 at 09:40

          It is blizzard. So far every time a Beta dropped it just self updated with the exception of wow pre battle.net expansion.

          Reply

          • Ottokie

            May 20, 2016 at 09:42

            Yup, I am 99% sure that will be the case.

          • Admiral Chief Protector

            May 20, 2016 at 09:49

            Dammit I deleted mine

          • Ottokie

            May 20, 2016 at 09:49

            O.o
            .
            .
            xD

          • Admiral Chief Protector

            May 20, 2016 at 09:51

            It is ok, recently got my 2meg upgraded to 4meg, so will wait a bit
            (still need the game lolololol)

          • Ottokie

            May 20, 2016 at 09:58

            Nothing beats that feeling of faster internet at home.

          • Admiral Chief Protector

            May 20, 2016 at 10:00

            A few things come to mind, but not a lot

          • Ottokie

            May 20, 2016 at 10:01

            #SPforlife

          • Admiral Chief Protector

            May 20, 2016 at 10:06

            #MarriedLifeForLife

        • Kagutsuchi

          May 20, 2016 at 09:41

          I made the ‘mistake’ of ordering the retail version, so Ill have to wait until I get my copy. Please do let me know what the outcome is.

          Reply

    • Matthew Holliday

      May 20, 2016 at 10:13

      it will update automatically, it wont be a new install and it wont be a 30gb download.
      says so on the overwatch site.

      Reply

      • Ottokie

        May 20, 2016 at 10:19

        Sweet for me 😛
        Bad news for Admiral though xD

        Reply

  7. Kromas untamed

    May 20, 2016 at 09:13

    Bloody hell. The Beta I thought was feature complete and sat at 6gig. If the full game is 30 gig then I really hope it is more maps etc. Not that it really matters but still.

    Reply

    • Matthew Holliday

      May 20, 2016 at 10:16

      they were saying that the beta was pretty much everything we could expect to get in the full game, so the 30gb is just a “guideline” and i doubt is at all accurate.
      In fact, lazygamer is the only news site ive seen thats even mentioned the size. no idea where they got that from.

      Reply

      • Strawman Jim

        May 20, 2016 at 11:36

        The cloud?

        Reply

  8. Strawman Jim

    May 20, 2016 at 11:36

    Meeeeehhhhh! Not at 900 Randelas… there will be no jumping at that price… Jeeezzzzzzzz!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Check Also

Xbox Series X Restock Update Today: Track on Twitter, Walmart, Best Buy and More

New consoles are on the horizon, and while Sony and Microsoft have spoken plenty about wha…