Invitations for The International 4 have been sent

2 min read

From 18-21 July, the fourth International Dota 2 tournament will be grabbing eSports attention around the world. Eleven teams have been invited, and qualifiers will be held throughout May for the remaining eight spots. So who will face off at the International?

First up, the invited teams are (in alphabetical order):

  • Alliance (2013 champions)
  • Cloud9
  • Evil Geniuses
  • Fnatic
  • Invictus Gaming (2012 champions)
  • Natus Vincere aka Na’Vi (2011 champions)
  • NewBee
  • Team DK
  • Team Empire
  • Titan eSports
  • Vici Gaming

For those who watched the Free to Play documentary, Na’Vi was the winning team with the documentary focusing on Dendi. One of the other players, Fear, is part of Evil Geniuses. Am I making it hard to know who to root for yet? Now, these aren’t the only teams taking part. There are eight more slots to fill – one for the winner and the runner up in each regional qualifier. The regions are Americas, Southeast Asia, China and Europe. There are a total of 40 teams competing for those eight spots. Among them are:

  • Team Liquid
  • Sneaky Nyx Assassins
  • Orange Esports
  • Mineski
  • TongFu
  • LGD Gaming
  • Virtus.Pro
  • MYM

So many top teams will be going head to head just for the qualifiers, let alone in the actual International. I wonder when Valve will announce this year’s compendium. I think it will be an insta-buy for all the fans who bought it last year, plus it will grow with all the new fans. Are you ready? Are you getting excited for this year’s tournament? Which teams will you be supporting?

Read  Team Secret obliterated Team Liquid at DreamHack Winter

Last Updated: April 30, 2014

Zoe Hawkins

Wielding my lasso of truth, I am the combination of nerd passion and grammar nazi. I delve into all things awesome and geek-tastic. I believe people should stop defining themselves and just enjoy playing games, so let’s get on with it!

  • UltimateNinjaPandaDudeGuy

    Na’Vi, DK and Power Rangers.

    Can’t wait!

    • Unavengedavo

      Pff.. I’m rooting for Big Bad Beetleborgs!!!
      EDIT: I remember the intro being way cooler as a kid O_o

      • Grant [_G_] Hancock


      • UltimateNinjaPandaDudeGuy

        Hahahaha! What is classic!

  • Grant [_G_] Hancock

    Gonna be off da chain ! 😛 … soo looking forward to it. Hope Fear’s arm heals up in time … new EG been doing so well would love to see them mixing it up with DK, Na’Vi etc.

  • hairyknees


Check Also

Team Secret obliterated Team Liquid at DreamHack Winter

What makes Dota 2 such a great game is how it changes with almost every major tournament a…