Steam ad outs Just Cause 4

3 min read
5

JC4

That Walmart E3 leak is the gift that keeps on giving. Many games from that leak have been confirmed, including the surprise announcement of Rage 2, a new Assassin’s Creed, LEGO DC Villains and probably more. The latest game leaked in that list to be outed with a little more credence is Just Cause 4.

This time, digital games storefront Steam revealed the unannounced game in an ad that obviously want mean to go live. It confirms that Square Enix is handling publishing duties on a new Just Cause game, though it’s not quite confirmed that developer Avalanche is behind it again – especially now that they’re helping Bethesda with Rage, and have their own IP in the works as well.

The ad for the game (via Kotaku) gave a click through for pre-order, along with a few details on what incentives that pre-order might entail. It’s now been temporarily scrubbed from Steam, and is expected to magically reappear when Square officially announces the game at its press conference next week. That presentation will take place on Monday, June 11 at 10 AM PT / 1 PM ET / 6 PM BST/ 7 PM CAT.

The last Just Cause was…well, it was okay. It clearly was as optimized for the then new consoles as it should have been, resulting in a fair number of performance hiccups. Those were the least of its problems though.

“Just Cause 3 is genuinely fun most of the time, but it’s the periods where it’s not that hurt it most. Add to that some mystifying design decisions around progression and upgrades, and you’ve got a game that attempts to go bigger than its predecessors while forgetting some of the elements that made them so good in the first place. A fun, albeit flawed game.”

I’d be down for a more streamlined, better optimized Just Cause – and 4 may be it.

Need more E3 in your life?
Check out our E3 2018 portal powered by sleepless nights and Megarom Games

Last Updated: June 8, 2018

Read  Valve is in a place to “focus a lot more on games again”

Geoffrey Tim

Editor. I'm old, grumpy and more than just a little cynical. One day, I found myself in possession of a NES, and a copy of Super Mario Bros 3. It was that game that made me realise that games were more than just toys to idly while away time - they were capable of being masterpieces. I'm here now, looking for more of those masterpieces.

Check Also

Believe it or not, Just Cause 4 actually has a story to go with all of its explosions

This year, the festive game that I’ve got my eye on is Just Cause 4. It’s a series that is…