Home Gaming You can test MKX DLC characters before buying them

You can test MKX DLC characters before buying them

1 min read


I’ve discussed my apprehension about Mortal Kombat X’s DLC shenanigans before – and how, despite my unbridled enthusiasm, I’m not at all enamoured by the way that they’re selling of a handful of characters for half the price of the game. What if the new guest characters and returning classic ones are…well, crap? Thankfully, you can test them out before shelling out your money.

In an interview with Ed Boon, Angry Joe discovered that the game’s newly revived challenge towers will include ways to play as DLC characters without having purchased them. The Challenge Towers are now called Living towers, and they’re dynamic, changing all the time – and require playing as certain characters. On the odd occasion, they’ll need to be played as the DLC ones.

“And every time you turn the game on, there’s going to be three towers in the Living Towers section,” Boon says. “One changes every hour, one changes every day, and one is called the Premier Tower, which is kind of like an event tower.

“So for instance, if [DLC character Jason Voorhees] comes along, you’re going to have a Jason tower that you play as Jason. And you can even use that tower if you didn’t purchase Jason. So it’s really cool, it gives the players a taste of what the character [is] and what it’s like to play them.”

Of course, you’ll never learn how the characters work for any sort of high-level play, but it’s a great way to get to grips with the basics of a DLC character before spending money on ‘em. Jason, of course, is one of the two guest characters in the game’s $30 Kombat Pass – though he can also be bought separately. Joining him will be action film icon Predator, and classic Mortal Kombat characters Tremor and Tanya.

Last Updated: April 1, 2015


  1. D.Zoolander

    April 1, 2015 at 19:45

    Seriously, just wait for the Game of the Year edition of this…


    • CypherGate

      April 2, 2015 at 09:16

      Most of us wouldnt want to wait that long to play the game.


  2. God Hand

    April 1, 2015 at 22:25


    this sounds kind of funny. Imagine a mortal kombat game that has no playable character initially until you buy them. And people would only buy the characters that they like and not the other characters in the game. That would make for some funny fighting rosters….


    • Geoffrey Tim

      April 2, 2015 at 06:33

      Killer Instinct for the X1 pretty much lets you do this.


      • Brady miaau

        April 2, 2015 at 10:41

        Yes. Annoying, cause do I spend money to get a different char to try out? MKX seems to do this better,


  3. Hammersteyn

    April 2, 2015 at 07:35

    Hahahaha that header!


  4. Hammersteyn

    April 2, 2015 at 07:40

    Always found Tanya on the meh side. So I’d only use the other three and at $10 a pop that’s still pretty steep for DLC. Hopefully they decrease the price or I’ll pressXtoigonre


    • Jonah Cash

      April 2, 2015 at 08:10

      I don’t think I need to pick up any DLC characters until they are at least closer to the $2 range!!


      • Hammersteyn

        April 2, 2015 at 08:19

        Or $10 for all of them


        • Dutch Matrix

          April 2, 2015 at 08:35

          OR wait for the inevitable $25,00 game of the Year Edition, further reduced to $5.00 on a steam sale. I promise, that is how I got both Injustice and MK9 all DLC included. WIN!


          • Sageville

            April 2, 2015 at 09:44

            I got Injustice for free on PS4 with all DLC characters…. beat that!

          • Hammersteyn

            April 2, 2015 at 09:59

            Same here, but I dont want to wait that long

          • Sageville

            April 2, 2015 at 14:03

            Well, for MK X I believe we are permitted to pre-order due to awesomeness of the game.

          • Hammersteyn

            April 2, 2015 at 14:10

            I did preorder, but not because of Goro. But because I want to bath in blood!

          • Sageville

            April 2, 2015 at 14:40

            Naturally, I mean would wouldn’t!

  5. Sageville

    April 2, 2015 at 09:53

    Dat Header!


  6. dawid22

    April 2, 2015 at 13:59

    Just came here to say that that is a header win of note.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

PlayStation Plus Collection is Sony’s version of Game Pass for PS5

Sony’s finally taking on Microsoft’s all you can game buffet, with a service of its own li…